Sunday, November 1, 2009

ICC announces U-19 World Cup schedule

The ICC has announced the schedule for the 16-team Under-19 World Cup which will be held in New Zealand between January 15 and 30 next year.

Defending champions India will start against qualifiers Afghanistan at Bert Sutcliffe Oval, near Christchurch, with Pakistan facing the West Indies in Palmerston North, while 2008 runners-up South Africa take on Ireland in Queenstown.

The teams are split into four groups with Groups A and C being based in and around Christchurch, Group B teams playing their matches in Queenstown and Group D games taking place in Napier and Palmerston North. In addition to the 10 Full Members, there are six Associate and Affiliate teams taking part, having won through their respective regional qualifying tournaments as well as the global qualifier, which was held in Canada in September.

The top two teams from each group will qualify for the quarter-finals with the remainder of the teams taking part in the plate competition.

The groups are as follows:

Group A India, England, Afghanistan, Hong Kong
Group B South Africa, Australia, Ireland, USA
Group C New Zealand, Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe, Canada
Group D Pakistan, Bangladesh, West Indies, Papua New Guinea


Post a Comment