Friday, September 18, 2009


Associazione Calcio Milan, commonly referred to as A.C. Milan and as just Milan in Italy, is an Italian professional football club based in Milan, Lombardy. The club was founded in 1899 by English lace-maker Herbert Kilpin, Alfred Edwards, and four other Englishmen and has since spent most of its history in the top flight of Italian football (only two years in Serie B in the eighties).The club have won 18 officially recognized international titles, tied with Boca Juniors as having the most in the world. Milan have won four world titles, more than any other club in the world; they have won the Intercontinental Cup 3 times and the FIFA Club World Cup once. AC Milan have also won what is today known as the UEFA Champions League on seven occasions; only Real Madrid have won it more times. As for Italian Series A titles, Milan are tied with Internazionale for being the second most successful club with 17 league titles; only Juventus have won more (27) .Other important titles won by Milan include the European Super Cup a record five times, and the Cup Winners' Cup twice; however, they have never reached the UEFA Cup final (only two semi-finals in 1972 and 2002).


Post a Comment