Friday, September 11, 2009


1st of its kind. It introduced the concept of franchises and teams with international cricketers in the soccer format. There were 8 clubs. All the 8 clubs contained foreign cricketers. The Eight clubs were
1. Chennai Super Kings owned by India Cements
2. Rajasthan Royals owned by Emerging Media
3. Kings XI Punjab owned by Ness Wadia and Preity Zinta
4. Delhi Daredevils owned by GMR Holdings
5. Kolkata Knight Riders owned by Shah Rukh Khan
6. Mumbai Indians owned by Mukesh Ambani
7. Royal Challengers Bangalore owned by Vijay Mallya
8. Deccan Chargers owned by Deccan Chronicle

Some of the star players were
M.S.Dhoni (Chennai Super Kings)
Sachin Tendulkar (Mumbai Indians)
Sourav Ganguly (Kolkata Knight Riders)
Virender Sehwag (Delhi Daredevils)
Brendon McCullum (Kolkata Knight Riders)
Andrew Symonds (Deccan Chargers)
Herschelle Gibbs (Deccan Chargers)
Shahid Afridi (Deccan Chargers)
Adam Gilchrist (Deccan Chargers)
Sanath Jayasuriya (Mumbai Indians)

These star players were the highest auctioned players in IPL. These players were bought through bidding by the franchises according to their requirements. M.S.Dhoni was the highest bid player for $1.5m. Sachin Tendulkar, Saurav Ganguly, Rahul Dravid and Yuvraj Singh were named as icon players meaning that they cannot play for teams other than their home team. They also earn 15% extra of the salary of the highest paid player in their respective team.


Post a Comment